How to stay up to date with web accessibility

I find it quite difficult to stay current with all the tech information flying around. In the web accessibility space, I tend to learn a new thing or two, try to implement it in my daily work and when I am comfortable with it, I learn some more. There's a lot of information that one needs to remember about accessibility. Here is my process how I stay up to date.

Articles

The best resource for web accessibility is the official page of the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI). I think you should not really need any other resource if you stick to this one. Smashing Magazine also has great articles on this topic. And last but no least, Deque Blog also shares some very good articles.

Courses

There are quite a lot of courses available about Web accessibility. I often find most of them are called something like "Introduction to Web Accessibility". But I find each of these courses has usually something new to offer. The most valuable course for me so far was Introduction to Web Accessibility by W3C at edX. If you don't want certification of your attendance, the course is free. It offers really valuable insights of how people with disabilities use the Web. It is showing accessibility from the human point of view rather than by just listing standards.

Translating for W3C WAI

I recently started translating W3C WAI resources. It is a very rewarding activity to see your translations published. By doing this, I also make myself actually go through all the important resources available on WAI's website. If you know a foreign language and Web and accessibility terminology, I highly recommend getting involved.

Writing this blog

If you've seen some other articles I've published on this blog, you can see I mostly write about Web Accessibility. This helps me gather my thoughts on a given topic but sometimes I also need to make some research to provide accurate information which helps me learn.

Lunch&Learn at work

Another activity similar to writing this blog is organizing lunch&learns at work (or maybe even a meetup group). By doing this, you can also practice public speaking which is pretty awesome.

If you haven't read my post about Web Accessibility resources I suggest starting there and curating your own list of favorite resources and routines to stay up to date.